question on 430 FEL

/ question on 430 FEL #1  

jrdellaratta

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 990
We've been using the FEL on my 990 an unusually large amount in recent weeks, and I've noticed that the bucket has not been dumping as smoothly, and I can now hear a faint popping/clicking sound each time I move the FEL lever, coming from the hydraulic lines down behind the left front tire. No leaks that I can see (I checked with cardboard), but as I'm not too experienced with hydraulics, I am wondering what is the cause of this faint pop: low fluid, low grease, etc.?

Please advise,
Raphael

/ question on 430 FEL #2  
Hi Raphael,

I, too, have the 990 with 430 loader. The last 2 weeks I've made at least 200 trips moving dirt. In this frenzy of loader activity, my eye was drawn a few times to the hydraulic lines behind the front tire. I wonder if the sound you hear is from lines flexing. In digging the dirt, I've been running higher RPMs than when just raising and lowering for hauling stuff. I think this flexing was making a sound down there and drawing my attention.

I don't know that this sound would necessarily be related to not dumping as smoothly. (Unless a tube was pinched causing poor flow?) I've been hitting the grease fittings on the loader about every 10 hours.

Just my thoughts.

Dave

/ question on 430 FEL
I'm due for a thorough greasing, once I can get another pair of hands to help with the grease gun on that front. I'll re-check the lines and look for any pinches. When I first got the 990, a fellow TBNer warned that these lines and their plugs tend to hang low, and are uncomfortably close to the steering linkages for the left front wheel. I secured the plugs and such with snug, but not tight, electrical ties, and I've been good about checking on them after cutting in any high stuff.

Thanks for the insight,
Raphael.

/ question on 430 FEL #4  
Jerking and noise sounds like low fluid. Check the level and top off.

/ question on 430 FEL #5