What's hard on hydraulic systems?

/ What's hard on hydraulic systems? #1  

Bob_Trevithick

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 4300 MFWD
What\'s hard on hydraulic systems?

As I was working with the front blade the other day, I noticed that if I lifted it fully, the engine would imediately begin to sound like it was working harder. So, of course, I would quickly release the SCV.

This led me to wonder.. what sort of things are rough on hydraulic systems? The only one I'm sure of is the one the manual mentions, having the rockshaft "speed of drop" valve locked and then trying to move it. (As an aside, why is it called a "rockshaft"?)

Any others? I'm totally new to hydraulics, and would just as soon learn as many lessons as I can the easy way! /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

Thanks,
Bob

TBN_sig.gif

Bob Trevithick

/ What's hard on hydraulic systems? #2  
Re: What\'s hard on hydraulic systems?

Bob - This probably isn't what you were looking for, but by far the hardest thing on hydraulic systems is dirty oil. For the most part, if you keep the oil in good shape and the filter changed, hydraulic systems won't give you any trouble, other than normal abrasion and degradation of the hoses, etc. Hydraulic systems are extremely durable.

It is possible to super-heat oil by running it through a relief valve for a long period of time, which you would do if you, say, held the joystick long after the cylinders had fully extended/retracted.

Other things that definitely constitute abuse, though, are things like "ramming" the loader into stuff, but these kinds of things are more mechanical damage, even though it will often show up, not just in bent pins and linkages, but in blown seals.

MarkC
ChalkleySig4.gif

/ What's hard on hydraulic systems?