12 volt

/ 12 volt #1  

JohnDeere5350

Tractor
1953 50
Hi ya'll im new to this forum so bear with me. i have a 53 JD 50 that has the original 6 volt system. i would like to convert it to 12volt. Now ive read that a gm delco SI-10 alternator will work? i have some newer delco-remys laying around would they work? it has the battery operated ignition and has no outter-coil. I read i need a 12volt coil or a ballast resistor? where do i get one of those and whats the installation process? Im new to these poppers but i know how to wrench. any help is appreciated

/ 12 volt #3  
Hi ya'll im new to this forum so bear with me. i have a 53 JD 50 that has the original 6 volt system. i would like to convert it to 12volt. Now ive read that a gm delco SI-10 alternator will work? i have some newer delco-remys laying around would they work? it has the battery operated ignition and has no outter-coil. I read i need a 12volt coil or a ballast resistor? where do i get one of those and whats the installation process? Im new to these poppers but i know how to wrench. any help is appreciated

You can certainly convert it to 12 volts but I will mention that another alternative that I used on my old Case SC tractor was to leave it 6 volts and install an 8 volt battery. This added just enough zip to the starter to make it work well. The 6v generator will charge up an 8v battery sufficiently.

A few years after putting in the 8 volt battery I did convert the tractor to 12 volt but I didn't really see much improvement for the time and money spent. The 8 volt battery with the 6 volt system worked just as well.