John Deere 50

/ John Deere 50 #1  

suntreemcanic

Silver Member
Tractor
Kabota B7800 HSD
I grew up around John Deere tractors A's B's and then newer 4 cylinders and then a big 4020. My wife saw this Model 50 the other day with a FEL. I do not remember ever seeing a 50 series tractor. Were they as dependable as the old A and B models? It is a 1952 model with a single tire front end. It does not have any serious rust and the clutch is torn apart. I have been a heavy equipment mechanic for 30 years so the mechanical aspect does not worry me. The owner is asking $2500 including a 45 series loader with a dump bucket (no hydraulic cylinder for bucket operation). The tractor gives the appearance that it would start and you could put it to work (if the clutch was fixed). Is there anybody out there with one of these tractors? One of my secondary uses for this tractor would be pushing snow. There is not enough room to put a chain on the front wheel to steer it during plowing operations can it be converted to a different front end style? I will try to get a picture when the weather improves.

/ John Deere 50 #2  
The 50 replaced the "B" about 1952 or 53. A little higher HP than the "B", a very capable little tractor. The clutch shouldn't be too big of a deal, check places like Stiener Tractor or Restoration Supply for parts. ~~ grnspot

/ John Deere 50 #3  
You can also change out the front end for a wide front. In fact, it would be very dangerous to use with the single front wheel. It could easily roll.

/ John Deere 50 #4  
You can also change out the front end for a wide front. In fact, it would be very dangerous to use with the single front wheel. It could easily roll.

You can't use a 45 loader on a wide front tractor, unless it's a 45W! Having grown up on narrow front JD's (two-wheeled front), they are not as dangerous as some would lead you to believe.