John Deere 430W

/ John Deere 430W #1  

shelbythedog

Tractor
John Deere 430
I'm new to vintage tractors and am looking for the opinions of those with more knowledge than myself. I have a gentleman's agreement with a friend to purchase a '59 JD 430W Row Crop. Good working order, everything except the power steering functions as it should, including the 3pt and 5sp transmission. I am trying to get a feel for what this tractor is capable of in regard to implement size. Immediate uses involve maintenance to a gravel driveway and snow removal so I am most interested in opinion on what size would be optimal in both a box blade and back blade (straight/scraper blade). Any other advice or things I should know in regard to this model tractor? I am quite excited at the prospect of putting some old iron to work on the household chores, just want to make sure this tractor will be suited for the work I am planning. Thanks everyone!

/ John Deere 430W #2  
The 430 should handle a 6' angle or box blade.

/ John Deere 430W #4  
i have a m--little older--been in family 65 years----used and farmed with much larger tractors---those 2 cyd are the strongest thing for no more motor--crank-run-work-hardly ever give trouble--depending on soil type should pull 2 -14 plows-5 or 6 foot blade--4-5 foot disk- 1 subsoiler-tiller-cultavators--no problem---advice--go to you-tube and watch those thing work---if it looks pretty good you be lucky to get it for 3500-4000 bucks--john deere quit making the 2 cyd in 1960--hope that c e o -got fired back then---they will if right spin and bury itself befoe going dead---get rid of that gentlemens agreement and becone the owner--rare-desirable--getting higher-and harder to find--if you dont want-- it let me know where its at--i want it if not to far away

/ John Deere 430W #5