Tractor
    John Deere 430

Default John Deere 430W

I'm new to vintage tractors and am looking for the opinions of those with more knowledge than myself. I have a gentleman's agreement with a friend to purchase a '59 JD 430W Row Crop. Good working order, everything except the power steering functions as it should, including the 3pt and 5sp transmission. I am trying to get a feel for what this tractor is capable of in regard to implement size. Immediate uses involve maintenance to a gravel driveway and snow removal so I am most interested in opinion on what size would be optimal in both a box blade and back blade (straight/scraper blade). Any other advice or things I should know in regard to this model tractor? I am quite excited at the prospect of putting some old iron to work on the household chores, just want to make sure this tractor will be suited for the work I am planning. Thanks everyone!

Tractor
    JD 4255/Kubota M7040 HDC

Default Re: John Deere 430W

The 430 should handle a 6' angle or box blade.

Tractor
    John Deere 430

Quote Originally Posted by Tx Jim View Post
    The 430 should handle a 6' angle or box blade.
    Thanks for the response Tx Jim, 6' seemed like the most likely choice.

Tractor
    johndeere-m