John Deere 820 hydraulics

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics #1  

Circle W

Silver Member
Tractor
John Deere 820
I am fairly new to the tractor scene, but have learned a few things about them since I now have one. I have a 1968 John Deere 820 that runs great. I've recently changed a bent drag link and one of the steel hydraulic lines. Like I said, after those repairs the thing has run great. But when I checked the hydraulic dipstick near the right foot plate, I noticed that I was above the fill line. How can I drain some of the fluid out of there or is it ok to have a little bit extra? Also, the fluid appears to be sort of creamy colored (almost gravy colored), should I be concerned? Any advice is appreciated, thanks.

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics #2  
Cream colored hyd oil indicates moisture in the oil. Moisture is detrimental to brake linings. I'd recommend changing the oil & filter. JD recommends Hy-Gard oil or it's equivalent. Oil is supposed to be checked with engine running.

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics #3  
Yep you need to change fluid and filter .

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics
Thanks guys. So how do I get to the filter?

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics #5  
Filter is inside a cover under the tractor near the rear axle. Remove the retaining bolt and the cover can be removed. Replacement filter should come with a new o-ring for the cover. I believe there is also a drain plug in the same general area. It's been several years since I replaced my filter. I need to do it again soon. Not looking forward to it, as I recall it was a rather messy job.

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics #6  
Actually, it might drain through the filter cover. It's been so long that I just don't remember.

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics
Thanks everyone, hopefully I can take it from there. I honestly don't know how many hours it has on it. The only gauge that still works is the temperature gauge.

/ John Deere 820 hydraulics #9