1020 - 3 point lift is jerky

/ 1020 - 3 point lift is jerky #1  

jjaaam

Tractor
John Deere 1020
Hello all - looking for some advice...

I was looking at picking up a 1020. All seemed good for the price until I checked the three point. It was very jerky when going up. Smooth going down, however.

Power steering and wet brakes worked great. I am going off the assumption that the same hydraulic pump drives everything. So what could it be? A bad cylinder for the lift?

The seller put a heavy bucket on the hitch and it lifted the weight with no problems. He had a bar going across the bottom two links (do not know what that is called...I am a tractor newbie) and I stood on it. Lifted my fat rear end just fine but I could feel the jerkiness.

We checked the fluid level and it seemed to be ok. It was so clean it was kind of hard to tell!

One thing I did notice was that if I goosed up the throttle the lift was a lot smoother...not perfect, but definitely smoother.

How big of a deal is this? I would hate to spend the $$$ then have something bad go out soon afterwards.

Thanks in advance for any insight anyone may have. I really wanted this as it seemed light years better than the old MF50 I had.

Should I run away?

Thanks!

Jerry

/ 1020 - 3 point lift is jerky #2  
I had that happen on my Ford 1710 when I changed the hydraulic oil. Somehow it got air trapped in the system. I put my rear blade on the 3-point and for half an hour - - up/down - up/down. FINALLY - worked the trapped air out and it was smooth thereafter. I had the 3-point lift control knob set at max flow.

Check the 3-point lift control knob setting. Sometimes if its set too slow - it can cause the jitters.

/ 1020 - 3 point lift is jerky #3  
I'm doubting it is air trapped. Not aware of a "control knob setting" on the JD 1020.

See if you can get the hyd. oil pump pressure checked. And be certain that the oil level is correct.. even if it is so clean it is hard to tell.