HST or NOT ?

/ HST or NOT ? #1  

4shorts

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota 5740,BX25D
Hi Everyone I'm new to this site. I'm located in Newfoundland, Canada
I have a question that I'm sure someone would be able to help me with.
I'm thinking about buying a Kioti tractor for the main use of snow clearing.

I have a 500 ft driveway & also have two small parking lots that I do for others.
I have been using my GMC 4x4 pick up for the past 13 yrs to do all three lots with and it's worked very well but I thought a small tractor would help me control where I placed the snow so that's where I am so far.
The two model tractors that I'm considering are DK45S or DK45SE HST.
My question is this, For snow removal is it better to have HST or Not?

Dealer informs me the HST system not good for snow clearing because he says it would be better shifting gears manually as opposed to having the HST machine shift for you. I would think it would be the opposite. I could see it if I were plowing a field and working the machine under a load but for snow clearing I would have thought the HST would work great but I stand to be corrected on my way of thinking.

I haven't priced the HST model yet but the DK45S sells for $38'000 plus tax with loader. In Canada all manufactures also require a 25% down payment which I though strange but everyone around here selling these tractors require the same down payment. Your thoughts on both units would be greatly appreciated and look forward to hearing from you all. Great site! Cheers, Paul

/ HST or NOT ? #2  
4shorts said:
Hi Everyone I'm new to this site. I'm located in Newfoundland, Canada
I have a question that I'm sure someone would be able to help me with.
I'm thinking about buying a Kioti tractor for the main use of snow clearing.

I have a 500 ft driveway & also have two small parking lots that I do for others.