Snow Snow removal, FEL compared to snow blade.

/ Snow removal, FEL compared to snow blade. #1  

kas2960

Bronze Member
Tractor
CK4010HST
Hi Everyone,
Question regarding snow removal attachments. So I am new to this as I just received my Kioti CK4010 this year:thumbsup:. I have a rear mount blower and the FEL as my set up now. I finally have the blower set up so it removes the right amount of snow for me, with out removing all the gravel on the lane well as well :) However, I seem to have a bit of a difficult time when using the FEL. I just can't seem to get the height or tilt correct all the time. I do agree the time in the seat will help but i have seen the QA plows and can't help but wonder how much better they would be compared to the bucket.

/ Snow removal, FEL compared to snow blade. #2  
Indeed seat time,have you try lowering bucket than tilt back just a little than use float mode?

/ Snow removal, FEL compared to snow blade. #3  
How long a drive are U maintaining?
For sure a plow is nice for minor events as a blower is slow but snow gone like bye bye.
Remember that a plow creates build up that sometimes is hard to remove later.
Also plowed drives tend to get narrower as winter progresses.

For using your bucket there is a member that came up with an excellent solution that he calls 'edge tamers'.

The 'tamer' is sort of a small skid or ski that clamps onto the bucket cutting edge thus creating an inch* or so clearance thus avoiding stone/gravel pickup.
With tamers you then can use the FEL in float position w/o collecting gravel.

* leaving an inch that gets driven on and compacted makes for a great base for balance of the winter.

/ Snow removal, FEL compared to snow blade. #4  
i have seen the QA plows and can't help but wonder how much better they would be compared to the bucket.
A snow blade that can angle is WAY better compared to the bucket IMO.
Especially on a gravel drive where you can set the skid shoes for your blade height.