Buying Advice B3200 for a church

/ B3200 for a church #1  

chrisargo

I am an associate pastor at a church in Mc Calla, Alabama. Twenty years ago our church purchased 45 acres on which to construct our new campus. About 4 years ago, we completed the first phase on our new property. The first phase included clearing about 15 acres and constructing a sanctuary. The remaining 30 acres are heavily wooded and the topography is rolling and would not be developed for 15 to 20 years.

• The cleared area leaves about 10 to 12 acres that are not landscaped, paved or built upon.
    • Approximately 4 to 5 acres are fairly flat and we would like to mow on a weekly basis with a finish mower.
    • The remaining 5 to 7 acres needs to be rough cut on a monthly basis (bushhog).
    • We also have a huge pile of topsoil and many bare areas that need topsoil spread.
    • I feel we could also make use of backhoe at times. We have drainage areas to create/maintain as we pave other areas
    • We also have a retention pond and the area around needs work/maintenance as well.

I spoke to a local dealer and they recommended the Kubota B3200 largely for the mowing/bushhog and material handling. I realize that when we clear the land many years from now a larger tractor will be needed to maintain the land, but by then we should be able to afford more.

I have been considering this purchase for over a year now. The individual who has been bushhogging for us is a member who lives adjacent to the property and has done so for free for the last six years. However, he is moving up in age and has less and less time to maintain the property. Therefore, we are ready to explore this avenue.

I have been browsing the tractorbynet.com forum and saw so many recommendations from users I thought I would ask for some direct feedback from the experienced individuals.

By the way local dealer is quoting at $20k for tractor, FEL, 60" MMM, 5' bushhog. How's the price?

/ B3200 for a church #2