Buying Advice advice on tractor purchase

/ advice on tractor purchase #1  

ted temple

I have 100 acres of land in No. Cal and am considering a Kubota l3240 hst tractor with the 700 series loader. I will be doing forestry/firewood, road and trail maintenance, loader work, bush clearing and mowing. Much of the property is quite steep and I have a kubota rtv 900 which works very well in the hills with the hydrostatic drive. Is the 3240 a good choice? Should I get a grading box with the top and tilt, should I get the q/a bucket, should I get a 4 in 1 front bucket or a grapple? Should I get a bush hog or flail type mower if I plan to cut some pretty heavy brush? I'm a newbie but have been lurking and appreciate all the experience and knowledge that abounds on this forum.

/ advice on tractor purchase #2  
With everything you are considering and the amount of land and work you are doing I would at the very least look at the L3540 which is the identical tractor to the L3240 but with more HP and torque. If you choose to run a chipper or any PTO run ground engaging equipment the added umpf on the PTO will definitely help. You most assuredly want to go with a QA system on the loader. Especially with the forestry work and potential of using forks or any hydraulic run equipment off the front. HST IMO is the way to go. I had a GL3540 HST-1 and just recently went to a GL3940 HSTC-3. They are great machines and the loader specs on all three of the models I mention here are identical as they all use the same one. The other equipment choices you are asking about would be better answered by someone else.

/ advice on tractor purchase #3  
L3240 should do all your work,but the L3540 or L3940 might be better choices.Do it right the first time.I had a L3130(replaced by the L3240) ran a five ft.brush-hog no problem.Definitely want the Skid-Steer quick attach.