Buying Advice 2wd or 4wd Kubota? Compact or not?

/ 2wd or 4wd Kubota? Compact or not? #1  

andythomasday

Tractor
none
Hi-

I'm new to tractor buying (I've used farmalls and several fords before) and am in the market for a tractor to plow, disc, till and mow less than 5 acres. At first I figured I'd just go with a ford 3000, but then I kept running into these compact utility tractors that seemed to better fit my needs (although they don't seem any cheaper... if anything more expensive). I know Kubota is a quality brand and am willing to pay the extra dough.

Now, I feel like I need at least mid 20's HP in order to do some tilling. I don't want something that is barely enough to utilize a 4" tiller. It seems that a 25 horse will do that, right?

Second, I've found a 1994 Kubota 2wd, L2350 for $5500. It has 500 hours, has been garaged (in great shape) and comes with a 6' blade and 6' finishing mower. Is this a good price? Seems like the value drops drastically for the 2wd models.

Do I need a 4wd? It seems that almost ALL of these compact tractors are 4wd so it makes me wary to buy a 2wd one. I've used larger 2wd tractors and don't see myself needing the 4wd on this particular property. I'm not going to be tilling in the mud and there aren't a whole lot of slopes.

Let me know what you all think. Thanks!

Andy

/ 2wd or 4wd Kubota? Compact or not? #2  
One thing you have to remember is that with small light tractors, 2wd is not as effective. But you mentioned flat ground and working in good conditions, all to the good. With older heavier 2wd Ag tractors they are more effective in 2WD because they have the weight and larger tires too.