Buying Advice advice sought

/ advice sought #1  

kbk

Newbie/1st post here so please bear with me - Purchased an 85 acre farm last year in NE TN with every type of slope and flat, clear/heavily wooded that one can imagine. I bought a Dresser 175 C crawler loader to do the mega work of clearing etc. but would like to sell it after I'm done. I am interested in the M ot L series Kubota's or ??. The NH tractors seem a little pricey by comparison and the JD's are alot higher it seems for like vs like. I am not a professional farmer by trade but I intend to get fairly serious with the farm as a business( I'm looking at several different niche/ag products as one can grow just about anything in east TN...thornless blackberries, asian pears, kiwi, 4 legged critters (angus or boers)etc.
I currently have a man that does clearing, fence repair, etc running several head of cattle on the farm. His job for the last 30+ years has been tractor repair and he is quite respected. His advice is as follows:
- Kubota's are expensive to repair and need repair more than average
- Don't buy a backhoe attachment, they don't fit well and are inefficient compared to just renting a pure backhoe when you need it
- He claims I would never wear out a Long tractor and would save many $$$'s
- He also likes the comparable Massey Ferg
- dealer location and support is not a problem with just about any brand

any and all advice would be appreciated

farmer wannabe /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

/ advice sought #2  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( His advice is as follows )</font>

In other words, you're talking about one person's opinion, but it sounds as if you have confidence in him, so you can take our opinions for what they're worth.

</font><font color="blue" class="small">( Kubota's are expensive to repair and need repair more than average )</font>