B2150 w/ cracked FEL bucket

/ B2150 w/ cracked FEL bucket #1  

Stephen

Tractor
BX2200
Hi and a happy upcoming new year to all.

I've a line on a used B2150HSD (oh how the requisite size of my toy has grown) w/ the Kubota 60" belly mower and LA350 FEL for just under $12k. 400 hours, one owner, stored indoors.

Looks good from the pictures so seems like a pretty reasonable price. Comments ?

Anyway here's the kicker - the FEL bucket has a 5 inch crack near the middle of the bucket which the owner intends to have fixed. I can easily imagine closing a crack with a weld or a welded plate, but can anyone tell me if this is really sufficient or what a proper repair would be ? I'd hate to have a bucket fail while lifting some heavy load. Potential horror story.

Are all 2150HSDs 4wd ? Just what do all the letters after the model really mean (HSD, HSE, HSB, HST, DT) ? OK H seems to be hydro but the rest is a mystery.

-thanks,
Steve

/ B2150 w/ cracked FEL bucket #2  
Stephen, I'm no expert by any means, but a 5" crack in the bucket? I'd just weld that sucker myself, grind off any excess to smooth it, maybe give it a shot of paint, and forget it.

As for all those letters, I can't remember all of them myself, but I think
HSD=Hydrostatic transmission, 4WD
HSE=Hydrostatic transmission, 2WD
HSB=Don't remember that one
HST=Hydrostatic transmission (may be an "E" or "D")
DT=Geared tractor

Bird

/ B2150 w/ cracked FEL bucket #3  
Steve, I imagine your pretty excited about closing this deal. Any chance you could get the price lowered and let the owner keep the split bucket and you could by a new one. There will a lot riding on how well that split is repaired. Now this seller might be somebody who you've known a long time but I don't know that so I find myself wondering how that FEL got mistreated to create that split and if the B2150 has been mistreated also.