Input & Questions L2501 vs B2650 Cab vs B26 vs Used Case 580L or M

/ Input & Questions L2501 vs B2650 Cab vs B26 vs Used Case 580L or M #1  

RodSerling

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota BX25D
I got the bug to upgrade from my BX25D to something with some more capability. I have owned the BX for almost 4 years and put on almost 400 hours. It has been handy but I want something that can do a little more.

What I use the tractor for and where I use it:
I have 4 acres of wooded PA ground. I want to clear a 1/2 acre or more to plant. I also use it to plow 1500' of driveway, 300' of it is 30' wide. With a good snow (12"+) it takes all day to do and I am frozen and wet. I also use it for driveway maintenance, to dig stumps, drag stuff, help neighbors out, etc.

Backhoe vs. Loader vs 3 pt Usage. I use the backhoe as much or more than the loader and rarely use the 3 pt except for a box grader 2 twice a year. My background is in construction. I was a equipment operator for years so I use my tractor with that mindset. I have no experience using it in an AG setting. What I am trying to say is, a strong backhoe is a must.

Machines I am considering and why.

#1. L2501 with BH77. I like the weight and the loader of the L. It fits my budget the best at right under $32k equipped the way I want. My concerns are the BH77. I've ran 3 pt BH's before and am disappointed. It also seems to hang of the back quite far and I have some steep hills I am afraid I would drag on. I don't want a BH that is just a little better than the one I have on the BX. I also want to be able to lift myself up and move myself around without getting on and off.