Kubota L3130 and Woods BrushBull 600

/ Kubota L3130 and Woods BrushBull 600 #1  

jayiowa

Tractor
Kubota L3830HST
I recently bought a 52 acre piece of land in Iowa. It has rolling hills and currently has grass, brush, and small trees under two inches covering most of it (a little corn and soybeans for variety). I would like to keep about 30 acres open. I don't want a thirty acre lawn, I just don't want trees covering the entire thing.

Since I have no experience with anything other than lawn tractors, I have a few questions. The main implement I think I need is a medium duty brush hog. The Kubota dealer suggested an L3130 HST with a Woods BrushBull 600 would be a good match for my needs. Does anyone have experience with this combination or something similar? Does the L3130 have enough power to run this cutter up a hill? I was planning to get some front weights since I don't have an immediate need or the money to buy an fel at this time. Would 400 pounds of weight on the front be enough to counterbalance the 1000+ pound cutter? Has anyone had issues with brush or small trees damaging the underside of a Kubota? I have found a couple of threads mentioning these issues with the JD4310 and the Mahindra 4110.

The next question is price. The quote was as follows:

L3130 HST, R4 tires, $15,400 (list $17,536)
Woods BB600, $1,800 (list $2,068)
weight bracket and 7 weights, $535

Is this reasonable pricing or a bit high?

The final question is about maintaining an earthen dam. There is a good size dam creating a four acre pond. The vertical drop from the top of the dam to the base is about 25-30 feet. It is fairly steep. Can a tractor be used to keep trees from growing on this or is a dam too steep for this kind of tractor? The top of the dam is fairly wide and flat allowing turnaround of a tractor.

Thanks,

/ Kubota L3130 and Woods BrushBull 600 #2  
Welcome to TBN.