Which transmission ?

/ Which transmission ? #1  

countrybumpkin

Elite Member
Tractor
Kioti, kubota
I'm new to the compact tractor world, I'm looking at the L3130 or L3430 4WD FEL. Not really sure what trans to get, I was thinking of the GST but didn't know pros and cons of the FST, GST, HST. Any help would be great.

/ Which transmission ? #2  
Sorta may depend on the type of work you wish to use the tractor for.

Egon

/ Which transmission ? #3  
Welcome to Tractorbynet, Countrybumpkin, glad to have you join us. I'm not sure whether anyone can help you a great deal with your question. It's kind of like someone asking whether to get a manual transmission or an automatic in a truck. Some folks have real strong opinions one way or the other; some are happy driving either. The important point is that it's only that person's opinion. They are all "good" transmissions, so the right one for one depends on several things: (1) what kind of work you'll be doing (mostly FEL work? plowing? mowing? long straight runs? a lot of maneuvering in tight places?), (2) what kind of experience have you had (I know you said you're new to the compact tractor world, but have you been operating big agricultural equipment, or new to tractors in general), (3) how fast do you want to get jobs done?, (4) is the price difference important to you?, (5) will you use it enough for a little difference in fuel economy to be important, etc.