BX2230 review & opinions (long)

/ BX2230 review & opinions (long) #1  

mhagerty

Tractor
BX2230
Below is my review of the BX2230, sorry for the long rambling review but it’s a slow day at work today. I purchased my BX2230 in Feb of 05 with the help of many on this forum. I wanted to do this review for a couple of reasons, try to contribute to the forum and to help others who may be interested in the BX2230.

Disclaimer – I am a beginner in the tractor world so this is a rookie suburban user review.

First, my reasons for considering an upgrade to the tractor world was that It was taking too much time to mow my 2.5 acres of lawn with my MTD garden tractor (approx 3.5+ hours). The MTD was 8 years old and needed several hundred dollars of repairs (it only cost $1600 when new). I also wanted more versatility with a machine, moving loam, mulch, clearing driveway, etc. Lastly, I wanted a machine that would last; the MTD pretty much needed some kind of service every year (after the first 2 years) and I’m not talking about the regular maintenance type stuff.

After doing the typical research that we all do I was leaning towards the BX1500 but after reading and hearing the opinions of many here on the forum I decided to upgrade to the BX2230. I also really wanted the 60 inch MMM to cut down on my mowing time, the biggest deck on the BX1500 is the 54-inch deck.

Some quick facts, I have 33 hours on the BX2230 with approx 10 of those hours from mowing and the rest using the FEL. I also have the bagger unit as well.

Now for the review,