Buying Advice Looking for Trackor purchase advice (long message)

/ Looking for Trackor purchase advice (long message) #1  

chapmx

Tractor
Kubota L5030HSTC
Hello all. I am a tractor newbie (fairly new anyway) and have been monitoring the forums over the last few weeks to garner some information from the very knowledgeable folks that contribute here. In addition to these forums, I have spent plenty of time at dealers etc. doing research for a purchase. Even with all this I am unsure of what the "best" solution for my situation would be (quite frankly I keep changing my mind as to which options are best for me!). This has prompted me to ask others, more knowledgeable than myself, for some less biased opinions (less than my own anyway as I tend to think short term $$$ sometimes vs long term picture).

In advance, let me apologize for being so wordy, but want to give as much detail to my expected use/needs so as any advice received is as relevant as can be.

My current situation is that I live in North Eastern PA on a 45 acre parcel. The parcel is divided into about 30 acres of open land and 15 acres wooded. Topographically, it is "hilly" which is to say that there is no level or anything extremely steep (about 150' total elevation change).

My primary task are (ordered by priority):

1. Brush hog about 15 acres 3 times per year, another 10 acres one or two times per year. The final 5 acres are finished mowed about weekly. I presently use an early 60's Ford 2000 to brush hog, which works fair if I do not let the fields get to high. The finish mowing is done w/ a sears craftsman 25 hp garden tractor which works fine but is a little on the slow side. I am not looking to really do finish mowing with new tractor as I see a ZTR in my future ...