4330 vs. 4630

/ 4330 vs. 4630 #1  

Marooned

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota 4330 HST, 853 FEL
My first post, so bear with me. I've been watching TBN for several months now and love it. Frankly, it's been quite addicting.

Anyway, I'm new to tractors (only experience has been on my father-in-law's old Ford 800) and am considering purchasing either the 4330 or 4630 w/ fel and have noticed on the specs that the only difference is Engine & PTO horsepower. Is basically 3 more hp on the 4630 worth the extra $$'s?

I plan to use on 17 acres around my home that needs alot of brush / small tree clearing, moving dirt piles, dragging large tree trunks, shredding, disking to plant a small patch of oats or rye grass for deer, some box blading & eventually some type of pasture sprayer. Also will occasionally shred around roads on an additional 75 acres & maybe spray a few meadows on same.

Additional equipment I intend to purchase with tractor is 6' medium duty shredder, 6' box blade & 6' disk (Hay King Brand).

Based on these uses & equipment, do I need the extra 3 hp?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

/ 4330 vs. 4630 #2  
I personally would not pay the extra for what basically amounts to the exact same tractor with a slight bump in engine performance on the L4630. If you need a cab then I think your decision is made. Save the extra money and get the L4330. If folks can tell the difference in a few extra HP's in the L4630, they are already undersized to begin with.

/ 4330 vs. 4630
No cab needed, I live in S.E. TX, humid & hot most of year. My place has quite a few trees on portions of it and cab would make it difficult to navigate through them.

Question: FEL performance & PTO capacities should be the same on either tractor, right?

/ 4330 vs. 4630 #4