mowers

/ mowers #1  

Anonymous Poster

Buying L3010 with ind. tires. I was told the mmm will not work with these tires so i want these tires for stiffer side walls and mowing. A friend told me to go with the bush hog finish mower instead of the woods. Specs are about the same. Advice please. Did not price, any tiller any ideal of pricing. Thanks. william

/ mowers #2  
William, I'm not sure we can give you any reliable advice with no more information than you provided. I have a Bush Hog finish mower; RDTH60 that cost me $1,695 two years ago. I also have a Bush Hog RTS40 tiller that cost $1,300 about 6.5 years ago. I like Bush Hog products, but tend to believe they're a little over priced. If I were buying a new tiller today, I'd probably have to try the King Kutter; better price but don't really know about the quality - looks good at least. And Woods has a good reputation, but I have no personal experience with their products and haven't priced them locally. Hope this helps a little bit.

BirdSig.jpg

/ mowers #3  
I think that the "Big 3" in tractor 3-point finish mowers, if there is such as thing, is Bush Hog, Woods and Land Pride. It has been over a year since I've done any price comparisons, but at that time the Land Pride was the most expensive of the three.

I believe all three to be very good quality, but I did receive negative comments about Woods along the line of "they used to be the top of the line, but have not improved their designs and the other manufacturers have surpassed them while Woods was left behind relying on their name recognition". For me, local dealer representation for Woods products was very poor, and the only finish mowers that they had in stock were 7 or 8 brand new ones and all were about 4 or 5 years old (and were discounted only slightly).