Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tractor
    JD-2640

Default Kubota vs John Deere

Ok guys, I am relatively new to TBN and have certainly gained a lot of information on several tractor issues, projects, modifications, etc.

I have begun to look in ernest for a new tractor. I currently own a 1978 JD-2640. Been a great tractor for me for about 15 years. It is about 70 hp at the PTO and I use it to do some dirt jobs (lot grading, building up yards) and bushhogging for hire and keeping up food plots and roads at the hunting lease. The tractor is getting a little age on it, as I have, and I want to move up and purchase a brand new tractor with a cab, 4wd & FEL.

Both JD and kubota seem to have a great product and I want to make some fair comparisons.

Questions that I have are:

1. I see JD utilizes a u-joint on the front wheel drive vs Kubota appears to have some type of bevel gear. Any pros or cons to either?

2. I assume I will want the wet clutch and wet brakes due to dirt work. Is that option available on each.

I am still not sure what hp range I am going to ultimately settle on, but it will be in the 70-90 hp range.

I'm sure other questions or considerations will come as the process moves along.

Thanks in advance for any and all input.

Mike

Tractor
    Kubota BX2230

Default Re: Kubota vs John Deere

I'm certainly not an authority on the subject, but I know a few things in "broad brush".