bang for the buck,, which machine

/ bang for the buck,, which machine #1  

mikeboom

I am a total newbie to the tractor scene and look to the obvious expertise here in this forum for advice. I am looking to buy a machine capable of material handling, road maintenance, and general farm/landscaping duties. I am currently building a house and would like to do as much road finish, tree planting, wood moving, etc as possible. Also, we have here a small farm (30 goats, dairy cow, 3 horses fowl, etc etc ) so manure maintenance is a reality.
I have a sense that the 30hp range is appropriate for what I need to do, but when I look at the choices I get totally confused by the apparent options available,,,, Thoughts?
BTW- I think an HST/GST machine is probably a good idea in my case...
Thanks so much
Mike
Woodstock NY

/ bang for the buck,, which machine #2  
It sounds like for what you are planning on doing a 30hp. HST would do you well.Whatever you decide "JUST ENJOY" the thrill.
Donny

/ bang for the buck,, which machine
no doubt,,I will enjoy getting things done,,,I would love to hear opinions on what model(s) would be best for these tasks
thanks
Mike

/ bang for the buck,, which machine #4  
I think you are on the right track with the 30hp. But for kicks check out pricing on a few units that are a bit higher in HP. Do some comparisons. If your new the HST is the way to go. But one thing to keep in mind, get your self a dealer that will back up the sale. That is very important.

murph

/ bang for the buck,, which machine #5  
Mike, you didn't mention any lawn duty like mowing or a front blower, so I'd recommend a L-3400 if you want a hydro.

How much extra activity do you have from the police excitement in your area?

/ bang for the buck,, which machine #6  
Mike,
I have the B7800 and do all of the above with it.