GR2120 First Impressions

/ GR2120 First Impressions #1  

kcender

Platinum Member
Tractor
GR2120 B2650 Cab
I just finished mowing for the first time with my new GR2120.All I can say is WOW,I should have bought one years ago.As I mentioned in another thread I have been mowing with a B2620 that I purchased new a few months ago.I wasn't happy with it's mowing performance for a variety of reasons but the main problem was turf damage when making turns.After trying a few things to make it better,I gave up and got the GR.Strictly from a mowing point of view there is no comparison between the two.What was taking me two hours and forty minutes to mow I did in one hour and fifty minutes.This is my first time, so the time will probably be reduced further with more usage.Mowing around objects is now effortless whereas before I was doing a lot of three point turns.The deck also gives a nicer cut,the deck seems to stand the grass up better.The increased vacuum of the deep deck also picks up old grass clumps and chews them up whereas the 2620 would just drive over them.I found with the 2620 I was using a lot of overlap to try and clean up the previous pass,I don't have to do that now.As far as stability on side hills,I am sure you could roll this tractor over but it would take a lot.It is the most stable tractor that I have used.I have one area where I have to mow down a steep slope for about ten feet and then turn to the left quite hard and mow down another slope.This is the only tractor I have ever had that doesn't leave damage in this area,I was quite impressed.Because of the short wheelbase it follows the ground closely and leaves less high and low spots in the grass from elevation changes.Fuel consumption also seemed very good with it still showing full after mowing at WOT for just under two hours.The tank seemed to be down an inch or so from where I started.Another thing about this tractor is that I was mowing in patterns that I never did before because it was too hard to