Default Looking for tips on replacing GR2100 glide steer cable

The right glide steer cable on my GR2100 just broke for the 2nd time in less than 350 hours. Has anybody replaced one of these themselves? It seems the dealers take about 2 hours to do this so it's probably more complicated than it looks. Does anyone have any tips for this job? Thanks.

Default Re: Looking for tips on replacing GR2100 glide steer cable

Just finished doing this and 2 hours is too much time for a dealer. If I had to do it again it wouldn't take me more than maybe 75 minutes, and I'm no mechanic. Anybody who is somewhat mechanically inclined can take this on. The hardest part is getting them snaked through the small spaces you have along the front axle, but no special tools are required. You may even be able to position these better than kubota or the dealer did since you have a little play in the cables to work with. My dealer replaced the first one of these that broke, and this one broke I think because he had it pinched too tightly under the oil pan area between some fittings. That's where it broke. Have a few zip ties with you. You'll definitely need one or two at the front or the cables could pop up and get caught by the teeth of the exposed front flywheel. Make sure you have the ends of the cables in the proper position, front or rear, as it only works one way.

Tractor
    Kubota X 4

Why not do the upgrade to the rods?

David Kb7uns
    Grand L3130GST LA723 Loader, ATI grapple, ATI grapple bucket, WR Long front remote, Kubota rear remotes, Bradco 408 Backhoe with thumb, 60"KK brush hog, 60" RM Finish Mower, Speeco Post Auger, 72" KK rear blade, 60" box blade
    BX2230 LA211, RCK60, GCK60 Bagger,42"Land Pride Tiller, XB BB, XB RB, rake, Fimco 3PT sprayer
    G2160 RCK60 Mower
    RTV1100 Orange, Work Lights, Front Rear Winch,Rear Screen, High Mount air cleaner, water seperator
    2010 Polaris RZR 800 S
    2007 CAN AM Outlander 800 LTD