Going to look at a G5200

/ Going to look at a G5200 #1  

JStrange

Tractor
John Deere X320
Hey all.
Been looking for a replacement for my JD X320 ( it’s wimpy and can’t handle hills ) and I came across a G5200 for sale. It looks to be in reasonable shape, it looks whole. The current owner has done a bunch of maintenance stuff over the past year. Here’s the list.
New water pump, fan belt, fuel pump, ignition switch, new oil/filter, new fuel filters, new hydrostatic oil/filter, new blades, deck belt and PTO belt.
It has 1795 hours on the clock. Comes with a 44 deck and a triple powered bagger.
I’m new to diesel and Kubota garden tractors, is there anything specific I need to watch out for? What’s a reasonable price for a machine like this? The reading I’ve done leads me to believe that it’s a rugged unit and will do what I need (hilly terrain mowing with a tow behind mower) and then some.

/ Going to look at a G5200 #2  
Never heard of the G5200 so had to look it up, built between 1984 - 1990. On the web looks like price are 1800 -3500. I would probably go in at 1500 myself.

/ Going to look at a G5200 #3  
Welcome to TBN!

We have a G5200H and it's a great lawn tractor.
It cuts 2 acres of (what we call) lawn in the Summer & in the Fall it sports a Cyclone Rake and pick up yards of leaves.
The 15HP engine is a brute for a 44 inch deck and it uses half the volume of fuel to cut the same amount of grass as our
previous mower, a 21HP Craftsman could manage. I don't recommend it, but we have cut field grass 36" tall with it.
Had to go slowly, but it muscled through what would have stalled the Craftsman in no time.
Things to look for:
1) Mower deck: make sure it's rock solid or repairable.
They've been out of production for almost 30 years and many have rotted out.
Replacement decks in serviceable condition are extremely hard to find.
Make sure the mower deck gearbox is in good condition - they are very expen$ive to repair/replace.