Ballast Ballast Box

/ Ballast Box #1  

PAGUY

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota BX2200, Gravely mower
I am a newbie who recently bought a 2003 BX2200 with Fels and 60"MMM.
It came with all manuals and a ballast box that looks almost brand new (must never had been used).

My question is what do you fill the ballast box with for the summer and come winter? Will only use it if working with Fels and no MMM installed.

I read 60 pages of threads already and never seen any mention of using the ballast box.

I have had a 16hp Gravely tractor for at least the last 7 years but bought the Kubota due to 4 wheel drive vs. the 2 wheel drive I have been using with chains to do my uphill macadam driveway.

Thanks in advance - PAGuy

/ Ballast Box #2  
I haven't seen too many store bought ballast boxes on the forum, but I have seen some really cool home built ones with added storage slots etc.

Most of the fellas already have some type of attachment on their 3 points providing counterweight for their FELS. BH's, BB's PH's

/ Ballast Box #3  
PAGUY said:
My question is what do you fill the ballast box with for the summer and come winter? Will only use it if working with Fels and no MMM installed.

I believe most folks fill them with cement. Some have put PVC pipe pieces in the ballast box first and then filled them with cement so that they can place shovels or other hand tools in the PVC tubes. Basically the cement adds the weight and the tubes sticking out the top allow you to carry things with handles on them.

My own ballast box I just filled with rocks but cement is heavier.

Norm

/ Ballast Box #4  
In the old days, scrap iron was commonly used. Now that the price of scrap is up, 'crete is popular. But good old fashioned sand is always a good standby. About 150# per cu ft.

jb

/ Ballast Box #5  
PAGUY said:
I am a newbie who recently bought a 2003 BX2200 with Fels and 60"MMM.
It came with all manuals and a ballast box that looks almost brand new (must never had been used).