50 Hr. Maintenance Issues

/ 50 Hr. Maintenance Issues #1  
L

lucymargot

I just finished reading the thread on the 6800SD 50 Hr maintenance, and it piqued my interest due to what my local dealers have told me.

I became the owner of a 1999 6800 4WD partially synchronized model in March, purchased used with only 14 hours on it.

I am new to tractors, but remember reading here that the 50 Hr maintenance could be done at home, so I dropped in a few weeks ago to pick up the stuff i would need.

I decided a few days ago to get doing with it, as I now have 50 hours, and I noticed that the stuff the dealer sold me did not seem to be complete. No UDT fluid, and two hydraulic oil filters instead. I went to a second dealer and he told me that:

1) there was no need but to check the front differential and front axle gear case oil; if it was full and not cloudy seal her right back up!

2) instead of draining all hydraulic fluid he said to simply replace the filters, saying that I could do so and lose only a few quarts, and would only have to top off the fluid He sad he did shop maintenance in exactly such a way, and given that the package the other dealer sold me looked the same, it is clear that the other dealer does as well. He mentioned that this way you saved $70 in oil expense, and that any metal shavings would all be attached to the magnet or in the filter by now.

Has anyone else been told this? Is it crazy to listen to him? Is there a problem disposing of all that oil? Sure is a lot.

Also, with a 6800 is there any great need to go up to Super UDT from UDT? I was under the impression that Kubota only recommended Super as essential on hydro trannies.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Regards,

Chris

/ 50 Hr. Maintenance Issues #2