BX23 parasitic battery drain

/ BX23 parasitic battery drain #1  

Tollster

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota, BX23
I wash my tractor this thursday, cleaning under hood and battery compartment as well. I used the gardenhose. This morning when I went out to do some chores before changing the oil, the battery was dead.
I used a start now jumper box, and ran it most of the day, then I put it away and put a trickle charger on it. Its still charging after 6 hours.
I cycled the switches and have it in a heated garage. What could I have gotten wet?
Thanks
Tollie Perry

/ BX23 parasitic battery drain #2  
I can't imagine. I've been washing my tractors for 30 years. I spray down the engines with Gunk, then flush a lot of water. I then run them until they are warm to dry everyting out. Never had a problem.

Maybe some elctronic circuit got wet and left a relay on or something. Maybe the battery was almost bad anyway.

/ BX23 parasitic battery drain #3  
Take the battery out of the tractor, and then trickle charge it overnight. Assuming you don't have a load tester, put it back in the tractor and see if it will start. If not, you have a bad battery, and it was a coincidence.

/ BX23 parasitic battery drain #4  
How old is you battery? My experience with batteries is that they usually fail when it gets cool. As I'm sure you can attest, it's gotten a little cooler lately here in the "Land of Lincoln".

/ BX23 parasitic battery drain #6  
I wash my tractor this thursday, cleaning under hood and battery compartment as well. I used the gardenhose. This morning when I went out to do some chores before changing the oil, the battery was dead.

Had a similar situation after I did the 1st thorough washing of my then new BX23.
Seems the switches aren't water tight and once water collects in them, this is especially true for the flashers, the lights will turn on and off randomly until the battery drains or you happen to catch it like I did and dry out the switches.