Presenting ... a BX wiki

/ Presenting ... a BX wiki #1  

Hedgy

Silver Member
Tractor
BX24
Recently I was a wannabe BX24 newbie. Now I've eliminated the "wannabe" part! In doing my research I discovered TBN and realized it is great for browsing on a daily basis, or for asking a specific question. But it has some shortcomings for searching and navigation. Many questions have been asked and answered before, and often the best advice on some topic is buried in a 6-month old thread. The Forum Search will return many results, but finding the "definitive answer" means reading through them all. The Kubota site is no help either, it has no Owners FAQ, or searchable "Knowledgebase".

So I decided to make my own "online manual" - or more accurately a "wiki" (like Wikipedia.)
BXTractors.info

I've spent quite a few hours on it already - but it is (and always will be, I guess) a work in progress. Wikis are meant to be collaborative, so I'm hoping to find others willing to contribute and refine it. TBN members also have some good illustrative photos of thumb installations and so on, that it would be good to add to the site.

You'll see it has a lot of links to selected threads on TBN. This is not ideal - as a re-org of TBN might break the links - but that was the fastest way of getting it off the ground.

Best case, it complements TBN (and the Operators Manual!), and provides a jumping off point for newbies so they (we) don't feel we have to ask questions like "What is a zerk anyway?"

Worst case - it remains my personal online manual in which case I'd only update it for issues that relate to my specific model and attachments.

Anyway, I'm interested in your feedback.

/ Presenting ... a BX wiki #2  
Don't you hate it when you put together a long post (not to mention the effort of putting up the wiki) and no one replies? :D Well, fwiw, I bookmarked it. I have a career in programming to support my tractor habit, so I have an appreciation for what you did!