Stuck Pin? Hydralics Question

/ Stuck Pin? Hydralics Question #1  

timcote42

Greetings all. I just bought a B7100 with a backhoe and a loader attachment, knowing full well that the swing cylindars on the backhoe were leaking an needed servicing. So today I did a bit of Thanksging tinkering and attempted to pull them out, but ran into a snag. Let me say up front that this is my first tractor, and while I once rebuilt a kubota engine (came out of my sailboat), I have no experience with hydralics.

Anyways, in trying to pull out the swing cylindars it seemed obvious that I should remove the pin that secures it at the proximal end (the part nearest to the operator). As shown in the photos, the pin was held by cotter pins above and below. I removed these cotter pins and was very surprised to find the pin totally immovable, on both sides no less! Stuck a screwdriver in the pin and couldn't rotate it, tried to lightly hammer it down, wouldn't budge, put a pipe wrench on the part sticking up from above and it wouldn't go.

I put in some WD40, took these pictures and saved the heavy ammo for response from this group. Assuming the WD40 doesn't miraculously loosen the pin, my next efforts would include using a gear puller or heat from a torch to bust the thing through. Given that both plates of the bracket with the holes through which the pin passes are welded to the rest of the hoe, it seems this pin MUST be extracted. Any advice before I get mean with this thing?

Tim

Attachments

• 168.JPG
    168.JPG
    154.5 KB · Views: 465
  • 167.JPG
    167.JPG
    189.9 KB · Views: 416
  • 166.JPG
    166.JPG
    197.7 KB · Views: 370
   / Stuck Pin? Hydralics Question #2  
Is there pressure against the cylinder?