Onboard Hydraulic Grenade

/ Onboard Hydraulic Grenade #1  

chrisinnh

Hello!

The onboard hydraulic pump on my B7100 died last night. You can see a long crack just below the pump's equator in the following picture:

crack.med.jpg

Some circumstances of the failure:

1. This is the first time I've used the onboard hydraulics to power the loader.
  2. The transmission was filled about 50/50 with gear oil and UDT substitute from TSC.
  3. I was raising the empty bucket at the moment of failure.
  4. The transmission may have been overfilled.

Any idea what could cause such a failure? The tractor has less than 800 hours on it.

Here's a sketch of how I plumbed my hydraulic system for the loader:
hydraulic.gif

Any clues about what might have gone wrong?

Can somebody recommend a favorite salvage yard where I can source a used pump?

Thanks very much.

/chris

/ Onboard Hydraulic Grenade #2  
I'm no expert hydraulic or otherwise, but seems that gear oil would be to thick, maybe that had something to do with the failure?

I'm sure guys with more experience will give a more thorough answer

good luck...

/ Onboard Hydraulic Grenade
irwin said:
I'm no expert hydraulic or otherwise, but seems that gear oil would be to thick, maybe that had something to do with the failure?

Gear oil was the original spec for this application.

Later they changed it to UDT. This pump ran in 80wt all last winter with no problem, but I never asked it to do any work.

/chris

/ Onboard Hydraulic Grenade #4  
I'm not an expert by any means but two questions come to my mind:
Does the loader valve an allow flow back to tank when it's in neutral?
Do you have a relief valve in the loader system?

claridon said:
Does the loader valve an allow flow back to tank when it's in neutral?

The loader valve causes fluid to flow back into the transmission at all times.
In neutral, it's just an open circuit.
When moving a cylinder, the drain from the other side of that cylinder goes back to the trans.