Help please - L2850 is dead!

/ Help please - L2850 is dead! #1  

Duckguy

Hi Everyone,

I'd appreciate any help or advice on my situation. I'm an OK mechanic (or so I thought), but electrical problems drive me nuts. And it appears that's what I have here.

Our work tractor is a 2003 Kubota L2850. It's always been a decent tractor, but last time we went to start it, it cranked over but didn't fire right away, backed off the key, then turned it and NOTHING. Just dead. No dash lights, no head lights, tail lights, hazards, nothing. For about 2 seconds the hazards came on then quit. We've had some battery problems in the past, so we threw a new battery in it for the heck of it and new negative cable (old one was worn). Still nothing.

The fuse panel up by the radiator has no blown fuses and conductivity checks out on all of them. The fuse box is also getting power according to my multimeter. I've tried to trace power from the battery throughout and I'm utterly confused. It goes to the key, you turn the key and it goes out the way it should, but I have no lights on the dash, no head tail, etc. lights, won't crank, just nothing.

It seemed like it could be some kinda disabling safety switch, but I can't find it if there is one. The clutch switch seems to work...power comes out the other side when compressed. Is there one in the seat? We can't seem to find it if there is, and I didn't think that explained the lack of even dash lights.

So, what other things specifically might cause this complete loss of electrical? I don't have a wiring diagram so I'm at a bit of a loss at this point. I can't help but think this is probably something simple.

Thank you in advance!

Josh

/ Help please - L2850 is dead! #2  
I think your idea of a safety switch being thrown is right... however, I am not familar with your tractor so cannot give specific help. If it were my tactor, I'd make sure that the seat safety switch was not thrown.

/ Help please - L2850 is dead! #3