BX front axle pivot adjustment Help

/ BX front axle pivot adjustment Help #1  

shelbydog25

I've been visiting this site for several years, glad I found it when I purchased my BX2200. . Here ones I'm not sure about. With 471 hrs on it, when I turn the wheels all the way to the left, the front steering shaft piston pivots outside one side of the "hanger" (see photos). After which, the steering locks up and no left turn are possible. Once replaced into the hanger slot, all is well until I lock out the steering to the left again, and the piston slips back out of the hanger.

What I've checked: Hanger mounting bolts are tight. I've lightly tapped the hangers to bend them inward slightly, re-aligning the steering piston/shaft back into the hanger ring. this may just be a bandaid. Anyone else having/had issues with this? I did remove the cotter pin from the front axle pivot adjustment (see photo), but the adjustmet screw it tight with little play. Am I missing something here?

Mike

Attachments

• front axle hanger 1.JPG
    front axle hanger 1.JPG
    727.8 KB · Views: 401
  • front axle hanger 2.JPG
    front axle hanger 2.JPG
    727.5 KB · Views: 380
  • front axle pivot.JPG
    front axle pivot.JPG
    770.7 KB · Views: 370
   / BX front axle pivot adjustment Help #2  
Seems odd. My tractor is being serviced, so I can't go outside to look...what does the other side look like? Is it seated in the hanger or is the hanger bent out at all? It would seem that with the hangers being a constant width apart and the steering rack being of fixed length, something must have changed to create this condition.

Of course, some things get shorter with age...471 hours of use...dunno...:)

/ BX front axle pivot adjustment Help
hangers are fixed and consistent. when turning, the steering shaft is pushed like a plunger towards the opposite side hanger, it pops out the left side hanger. got me stumped as well. maybe tie rod have to be adjusted? they are threaded?