Ballast B2710 - Rear Ballast for Loader Work

/ B2710 - Rear Ballast for Loader Work #1  

DRFoster

Tractor
Kubota B2710
I finally took delivery of my B2710 w/402 loader and snowblower this week! So far, so good. I do have a question about rear ballast and loader work. My dealer filled the rear tires with calcium chloride. So far in doing loader work, I've left the snowblower on for additional rear ballast. Question: Will I have sufficient rear ballast (with the filled tires) if I remove the snowblower for loader work? The area I'm working on is around a garage with some tight access. So far, I haven't banged into anything, but with that honkin blower on the back, its only a matter of time. This is my first tractor so I'm still learning these things. In talking with my dealer, he said it would be OK without the blower but he recommended leaving it on. I was just wondering what other's opinions are on this.

/ B2710 - Rear Ballast for Loader Work #2  
It'll just depend entirely on how heavy a load you try to lift with that front end loader. Ballast in the form of an implement on the back is always a good idea (if you have room to work with it on there). I generally use my box blade for that purpose. But sometimes when working in tight places, or with light loads, like cleaning the manure out a barn, I don't use anything. With a little experience, you'll soon get the feel for whether you really need extra weight on the back end; just lift slowly so you don't pick up the back wheels accidentally before you learn.

Bird

/ B2710 - Rear Ballast for Loader Work #3