Another operating question (Clutch)

/ Another operating question (Clutch) #1  

Charlton John

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota B2620
Hi, Another newbie question here for you guys. on my B2620 I have a clutch. The dealer (salesperson) advised no need to disengage the clutch when changing from Hi, Low Med. The manual says I should. Any comments.

/ Another operating question (Clutch) #2  
I'm a Newbie also, but, yes - use the clutch when changing ranges - it can only be easier on the machine and translate into longer tranny life.
My opinion.
Have fun, be safe.

'FRank

/ Another operating question (Clutch) #3  
I always do it on my 7800. I figure it is better than not using the clutch and it's not a big deal to do it. Better safe than sorry. I always follow the manual.

/ Another operating question (Clutch)
Thanks Guys, Yes I have been doing it also as the manual states too just wanted to see the census out there. How about disengaging when going from 2wd to 4wd, I have to re-check the manual but I beleive it says to place in Neutral (which would require you to disengage the clutch) and then place in 4wd w/ the clutch still disengaged, then choose range let off clutch and off you go???

/ Another operating question (Clutch) #5  
These HST machines?

If so clutch isnt going to do anything for gear range changes.

/ Another operating question (Clutch) #7  
The clutch is a PTO clutch. It's to be used when engaging or disengaging the PTO. Since I've always been stopped whenever I change ranges, I don't notice any difference between using the clutch or not, so I would tend to believe that it's not necessary for shifting between ranges. If this were a gear transmission, then that would be another story. Then, obviously, it would be required.