Cutting edge versus tooth bar for B21

/ Cutting edge versus tooth bar for B21 #1  

BruceWard

Platinum Member
I have a box blade and rock rake available as soon as I can find 3 point arms for my B21.

I am about to start cleaning up after a bulldozer on a 4 acre lot. There will be a 600' x 16' driveway and a 200' x 200' yard. The dozer will have pushed the trees over. Several guys want the trees for firewood. I will have to clean up the brush. There are rocks ranging from fist size to several feet across on top of the ground. The dirt becomes slate about 3' deep.

I recognize the larger rocks can not be handled by the B21 and many of them will stay.

I want to finish the yard and driveway with the B21.

Would you buy a tooth bar, or a cutting edge or use the bucket as is? Please explain why you would go with a certain option as I am new at this.

Thanks

/ Cutting edge versus tooth bar for B21 #2  
I have rented a B21 before with just the regular 60" bucket. It cannot dig in rocks or compacted compost or clay. Get a toothbar. I have one on my JD2320 (sorry I'm in the wrong forum by accident). The toothbar can dig easily in hard clay and rocks. The cutting edge will not be able to pry out rocks any better than the regular bucket edge. the teeth on a toothbar are realy strong and you can really pry at things with them with no fear of damage. You end up with a reinforced bucket edge on top of it because the steel runs the full length. In addition, you can effectively dig deeper in one pass because the teeth stick out. Also it extends the bottom of the bucket like a shelf, making it easier to carry things like logs that don';t fit in the bucket. I have a clamp-on toothbar made by Rankin. Bolt-on may be more common, but I have never had any issue with the clamp-on style. It uses locking allen screws to hold it in place.

/ Cutting edge versus tooth bar for B21 #3