Oil & Fuel How much should a diesel smoke?

/ How much should a diesel smoke? #1  

Bruce8989

Tractor
Kubota B5100D 4WD
I bought a used (1000 hours) Kubota 2cyl B5100 diesel a few months ago. It always smoked some when started up, but then nothing visible. Now I am seeing a good size puff everytime I increase the throttle - is this normal? Do they all smoke a little? This is my first diesel - so I'm not sure.

I've changed the oil - filters etc... didn't change anything. Your advice is appreciated.

/ How much should a diesel smoke? #2  
Hi Bruce. What color is the smoke?

A puff of black now and again while under load or when increasing throttle is not something that I'd be terribly worried about - especially on a 20 year old tractor.

To me (and I'm no mechanic) blue smoke when hot is an oil ring/cylinder problem. When cold, it's a valve/seal issue. Again, though, a puff now and again is acceptable (to me, anyway).

/ How much should a diesel smoke? #3  
No more than a pack a day!

Sorry, I couldn't resist.

New tractors are designed to smoke a lot less than older ones. So when people here talk about seeing a little smoke on a new tractor it may be of concern. Older tractors were not designed to like the new ones. Diesel engines under load smoke! Increasing the throttle places the engine under load. Ever get caught behind a buss?
It doesn't sound like yours is smoking that much.
Are you using the correct wieght and type oil such as 15w-40 and rated for a diesel engine?

Rover

/ How much should a diesel smoke? #4  
Careful on the engine oil, yes I would agree on 15w/40 for diesel engines except when it comes to kubota diesel's, I tried the 15w/40 in my 5450 and had tremendous oil consumption, changed the oil right away with the manual recommended 10w/30 oil consumption went away and so did the engine smoke. Tim

/ How much should a diesel smoke? #5