Determining Correct Tire Size

/ Determining Correct Tire Size #1  

Kelvin

Platinum Member
Tractor
B2910 & BX23 (previously B2150 & B7100D)
To all,
Rather than go back to an older thread, I'll start a new one to finish up this topic.

When correct 4wd tractor front-rear tire size pairings are unknown or unavailable, I have come up with a simple test to determine if questionable substitute tire sizes are acceptable AFTER they are installed on the tractor. While I have an engineering degree, my statement is far from scientific or educated so please feel free to debate this issue.

Kelvin's Questionable Test: To determine if your tractor's 4wd gearing is compatible with the installed wheels & tires, do the following test with the tractor engine shut off and transmission in neutral (this is easiest on smaller tractors):

(1) Put the tractor in 2wd mode and see how easy the tractor is to push straight forward or backward.
(2) Put the tractor in 4wd mode and then see how easy the tractor is to push straight forward or backward.
(3) If there is resistance in 4wd mode that was not encountered in 2wd mode then the tires size may be a problem.

In my specific case, the Kubota B6100/B7100 tractors call for 20.5x8.00-10 front turf tires which are no longer available (there are golf car and trailer tires available in that size, but they (1) don't have the correct tread and (2) supposedly are not the same size as a tractor turf tire bearing the same numbers).

With my AG tires, my improvised test was successful. With turf tires mounted (correct rear tires with 20.0x8.00-10) the test failed (I had a lot of difficulty pushing the tractor in 4wd).