Am I in over my head?

/ Am I in over my head? #1  

nnicklas

I just stopped by the bota dealer to look at the BX22TLB. I came away a bit overwhelmed. I am currently using a Craftsman GT3000 25hp Kohler. I am a newbie to the compact tractor world and I am wondering if the bota is really a complicated as it looks to both maintain and operate. I know some of you guys must have to words of wisdom on this.

Thanks

/ Am I in over my head? #2  
You'll be ok once you start using it a bit, just take your time with it. I came from a Cub Cadet, bought the BX2200 with FEL, box blade, tiller. Yea, it does seem overwhelming at first, but you'll learn quickly. Once you start playing, you'll see just how easy it is to use the little beast...

/ Am I in over my head? #3  
I was in your shoes about three weeks or so ago. I currently have a craftsman II 18hp of about 1985 vintage. The frame and rear fenders are similar to yours and I think running gear is the same, 3 foward 1 reverse, 2 speed rear. Its an excellent rig, fairly easy to maintain and adjust when needed.
But I always wanted more. More capabilities, more versatility.

I started looking to replace old faithful, and walked into several tractor dealers. Due to sticker shock, and size of tractors I kinda chose the Kubotas, even before I knew this board existed. The BX series looked like they fit the bill. The first one I saw had the FEL and 60" MMM and was the greatest thing since sliced bread, HAD to have one. I did research on the web and found several good sites, but this one really stood out.

Do yourself a favor and read as much as you can in this forum as well as the others. Do use the search function, as it can cut down the time it takes to find answers to your questions. But don't be afraid to ask questions about your potential new tractor. I don't think I've seen a sarcastic reply to a question yet.