Snow Snow removal strategy

/ Snow removal strategy #1  

whitegs

Hello all,

I am about to use my BX2660 with rear blade to try and plow my long narrow gravel driveway. It is pretty twisty, and is pretty hilly. I have never used a blade before, and wonder if anyone can suggest any hints such as blade angle, plowing pattern etc. The driveway is about 1 1/2 car widths wide and maybe 1/8 to 1/4 mile long.

Thanks.

Doc

/ Snow removal strategy #2  
Two weeks ago I cleared my driveway and the private road it is on, about 1/4 gravel and tar and chip. The snow depth was 24", and had been driven on a couple of times by a large 4x4 lifted Jeep.
With that depth, I quickly realized it would take many passes to clear enough for the cars to be able to drive on it, and that I would never clear it completely.
Using the FEL I pushed the snow for maybe 10 yards, then with the rear blade slightly angled, would reverse to push the remaining snow to the side. Each 10 yard stretch required these steps multiple times. I also used the blade as I traveled forward, usually with a greater angle. I probably got at least 5 hours seat time both Saturday and Sunday.

Next time I'll head outdoors as soon as the snow is 5-6" and not wait until it is 2 feet.

Others have said be careful pushing rearward with the blade; you don't want to hit anything hard and damage the arms. The snow was still fluffy when I pushed it. I would not do it now as the remains have frozen.

Have fun and good luck.

BX2660, FEL, 5' rear blade, R4 tires.

/ Snow removal strategy #3