bx2660 and post hole digger

/ bx2660 and post hole digger #1  

drg1

Silver Member
Tractor
1532 hydro
has anybody used a full size phd like you would get at tsc? Looking at the 2660 but want to make sure it will work with some of my existing implements with the phd being one of them...Thanks..also list some of the implements and sizes you are using..Thanks again:thumbsup:

/ bx2660 and post hole digger #2  
I haven't used one, but I heard reports here on TBN that the augers drags on the ground when its in the up all the way position. That would make it hard to get the hole started straight.

/ bx2660 and post hole digger #3  
I have a full sized Greene PHD on my BX2200, which has lower 3ph parameters than your tractor. Raise the arms halfway. Loosen turnbuckles completely. Mount the U-bar by itself, slipping in 1 pin one one side, then the pin on the other side. It will fit this way. Then attach the other pieces. I have a 48" Pengo auger with an 18" extension. I get about 1"-2" of ground clearance while in transport. Even if you got drag, you could swing the auger upward and secure it with a bungee cord while in transport.

Those who report dragging are making an error. What you have to do is position the U-bar in the hole on the gooseneck bar that is closest to the tractor. That pushes the gearbox much higher. This does cause the auger to begin to angle away from vertical a bit as it digs in and you have to inch the tractor forward an inch or 2 at a time to compensate for this.

/ bx2660 and post hole digger #4  
There is a pretty good video on PHD's on (Temporarily blocked due to reports of company closure) I think they call out a special unit for BX series.

/ bx2660 and post hole digger #5  
There is a pretty good video on PHD's on (Temporarily blocked due to reports of company closure) I think they call out a special unit for BX series.