Mixing hydraulic oils from implement

/ Mixing hydraulic oils from implement #1  

BeezFun

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B2710
I borrow my neighbor's post pounder, it has long hoses and a fair sized cylinder on it, so it holds a good bit of hydraulic fluid. He has one of those funny green colored tractors so he uses different hydraulic oil. Should I be worried about mixing whatever hydraulic oil green tractors use with my orange tractor oil when I use his pounder? I was thinking I could hook up the supply side to the pounder and cycle it while I collect the output of the return side in a clean bucket, that would allow orange tractor oil to displace green tractor oil. Or am I being too ****...

/ Mixing hydraulic oils from implement #2  
I would not mix them myself, but admit I am no expert on this. Some have reported foaming and the need to replace the whole fluid supply when they were mixed.

/ Mixing hydraulic oils from implement #3  
Don't even think about mixing hydraulic oils, you don't have a clue how they will react. You could be making rubber and clog the whole system, melt the seals..........

/ Mixing hydraulic oils from implement #4  
Also who knows who has used it before.
Dirt, water, no telling what kind of crud is in there.
I'm looking for a PTO pump for times like that.

/ Mixing hydraulic oils from implement #5  
I had a Kubota 3710 GST. Asked kubota dealer when I changed the tranny oil could I use JD oil because I had another JD tractor. He said no problem. I used JD oil in the Kubota. We have JD and Case-IH ag tractors. Also have a Bobcat skid steer. Occassionally need to use different implement and attachments. I never worry about the minimal mixing of oils because of different cylinders or pumps. Tranny oil is not magic. Yes, it is nice to use all one type of oil but in many instances, it just isn't possible or practical.

/ Mixing hydraulic oils from implement #6