Mowing Adjusting BX Mower Deck

/ Adjusting BX Mower Deck #1  

MoreCowbell

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota BX2350
I just bought my first tractor a month ago (BX2350) so I am very new to tractor-dom. I initially had a problem getting my MMM to the "Top" position which seems to be a common issue based on other posts. After a good amount of mumbled profanity, I think I've come up with a process to both adjust the MMM and get the "Top" position to work. Here is what worked for me:

1) Park tractor on concrete, check tire pressure, set the height adjustment to 4" and lower the deck onto that setting.

2) Disconnect the front link from the front of the tractor and support the center-front edge of the MMM with something about 4" thick. This will eliminate any bias from the front link adjustment nuts and instead allow the rear adjustment bolts to solely control the height of the rear of the left and right blades.

3) Adjust the left and right rear adjustment bolts so that the rear of the deck is level from left to right and the rear of the left and right blades are about 4" from the surface.

4) Reattach the front link and adjust the left/right nuts on it so that the front of the left and right blades are even with, or 0.2" lower than, the rears as called for in the manual. Note that any difference that arises at this point between the left and right rears, would be caused by uneven left vs. right adjustment of the front link since in the prior step, the rears were even on both sides.

5) Now test whether the MMM will go into "Top" position. If not, LOOSEN both rear adjustment bolts a little until the MMM can go to Top position. Loosening the bolts allows the rear links to travel a little higher before the MMM hits the stops. Its the linkage and NOT the MMM that needs to get high enough to get into Top position.

6) If you had to loosen the rear bolts in step 5, redo step 4 in order to readjust the front link.