Turns over but will not start

/ Turns over but will not start #1  

NewClimber

Bronze Member
Tractor
B7100D
I went to get on the tractor today to move some rock I had delivered and she turns over but doesn't want to start. First it seemed like I had a dead, or dieing battery as it was very difficult to get it to turn over. I pulled the battery from my truck and using jumper cables I though I could the tractor started, it would then charge the battery.

With the battery from my truck it would turn over OK, but just didn't want to start.... I had the glow plugs on for about 30sec, I get black smoke out the exhaust, but no go....

I am kind of new to the diesel world, doing any automotive repair work on gas engines..

Any ideas anyone could give me to check. It started to get dark and I didn't do really much of anything. The glow plug controller is glowing, and I have fuel up to the filter... didn't check past that....

Maybe water in the fuel??? Being these don't have any spark plugs...at least I don't think they do....is there anything else electric wise that needs to be check??

The last time I used her about 6 weeks ago, she ran great....now nothing. It has been keep outside but undercover of a lean-to. Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Oh, I guess the important information.....1977 B7100 Kubota. Manually tranny....not sure what else you might need to know...please let me know if you need more information.

/ Turns over but will not start #2  
Fuel, air and compression is all you need with a diesel. If you can crank the engine, then you have the compression. That just leaves fuel and air. I'd look at air next as you can check it in just a few minutes. Check the air filter and make sure that it's not clogged and is clean.

Then you can turn you're attention to the fuel, which is the likely candidate.

/ Turns over but will not start #3