B21 - Rear leak at axle, how to fix

/ B21 - Rear leak at axle, how to fix #1  

nvr-enuf

Silver Member
Hello everyone,

I have a hydraulic leak coming from my rear driver side axle. Does anyone have any suggestion on how hard it will be to fix? It is not pouring out, leaves a puddle over time.

thanks
SAS

/ B21 - Rear leak at axle, how to fix #2  
OK, I'm no expert here but looking in the B21 service manual, it's looking to me like the tractor has to be cracked. The FEL comes off, the FOPS comes off, 3 point hitch comes off, the fenders come off, rear wheel comes off, the main frame comes off, then the rear axle case comes off. Then you disassemble the axle case to tap out the axle. Its probably transmission fluid you are leaking.

To replace the bearing which I assume is associated with the seal that is leaking, it looks like that is what you have to do. Bear in mind, there are folks on this forum who know much more than I do about such things and no doubt they'll chime in.

Last edited:
   / B21 - Rear leak at axle, how to fix #3  
UGH!!!!

I smell a bad set of roller bearings too; I wonder if his wheel rims have developed a case of the hoppsies which would also create forces against the seals and then the bearings?

/ B21 - Rear leak at axle, how to fix
what do you mean by a bad case of the hoppsies?

/ B21 - Rear leak at axle, how to fix #5  
what do you mean by a bad case of the hoppsies?

If the wheel rims are the type that are the formed steel wheels that are bent and formed and then welded the steel in the center is weak and flexes. The wheels then begin to deform.

I cannot tell if this tractor has the cast rims from the picture if that is the tractor.

The tractor has steel rims, looked to be stamped / deep drawn.

I can say that this side of the tractor had cracked a rim about 2 years ago. Maybe this clue will be able to help someone explain what my problem is an how severe $$$$$$$ :mad:

/ B21 - Rear leak at axle, how to fix #7