W.R. Long kit plus Gator grapple

/ W.R. Long kit plus Gator grapple #1  

jcliburn

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5100
Recently, I decided to acquire and install a W.R. Long third function valve kit (electric over hydraulic) and a Gator Attachments 60" light duty grapple on my Kubota MX5100 with LA844 front-end loader. I'm not a hydraulics expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I have a superficial understanding of how it works, and I'm occasionally handy with mechanical and electrical things, so I thought I'd have a go at the installation myself.

If I had known then what I know now, there are some things I would've done differently, hopefully getting the job done right the first time and saving myself a good bit of time, aggravation, phone calls, google searches, and running hither and thither to buy piece parts. I thought I'd share my experience here for the next guy who comes along looking for information.

Please note that everything you read here is applicable to MY tractor and loader, and may not be applicable to yours.

BACKGROUND INFO

1. I purchased a W.R. Long kit with the optional bulkhead mounting plate. (Pic 1) I didn't ask for anything other than the kit and plate; I made no additional specific requests.

2. The Long kit must be purchased through an authorized W.R. Long dealer.

3. The Long valve, hoses, and bulkhead plate are all fitted with 3/8" ag-type quick disconnect (QD) couplers. All hoses are 3/8".

4. The Long kit does not come with QD dust caps, presumably unless you specify them when you order. After opening the box and realizing there were no dust caps, I called W.R. Long and ordered three pair, although only two pair are actually needed for the kit. (I've discovered it surprisingly difficult to find 3/8" dust caps in my part of the country, so I wanted an extra pair.)

5. I ordered, received, and installed the Long kit BEFORE ordering the Gator grapple.