3-Point Hitch 3PH lifting arms not working

/ 3PH lifting arms not working #1  

eangler

Tractor
Kubota L2900
Hello,

I recently purchased a 94 L2900. I am a tractor noobie but am mechanically inclined. Hydraulics are a bit of a new thing for me but I get the basics.

So I went to try the 3pt hitch and the arms are "free floating." I can move them up and down with my hands. Position control does nothing. When I move the arms they are together and move with a small resistance and also make a couple light clunks.

Seems to me by looking into the oil fill port with a inspection camera that there are no fragments anywhere. So my first suspicion is that I have no pressure. My goal is to try to eliminate the external / easy stuff before tearing into it. I studied the parts and I think I figured out that the hydraulic supply comes to the lifting arm section via a hard steel line from under the right side of the machine. That block also supplies the FEL and backhoe. The line goes up under the seat into a block where the lowering speed control knob is.

How can I figure out if pressure is getting up there? Is it reasonable that the large-ish (16 or 17mm socket) plug on the right of the inlet tube should weep oil if the tractor is on?

FYI the loader and backhoe work OK, although the fluid might be a little low.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks.

/ 3PH lifting arms not working #2  
one quick question, do you have any rear remotes (hydraulic remote ports). the reason I'm asking, is if my tractor remote is set into detent or float position,. it can stop the other hydraulics from working.

what i had to do with my tractor was to loop a hose between both empty rear ports, so if i accidentally left the lever arm in detent position, i wouldn't deadhead the hydraulic pump.

that being said, if you dint have any rear remote ports, than I'm sure people here will tell you to get a hydraulic gage and check your pressures.

/ 3PH lifting arms not working