3 Point height control lever

/ 3 Point height control lever #1  

jmanatee2

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L39 TLB
2006 L39, Having never used a 3 Point before, I am a complete novice.

Yesterday I took the backhoe off to use my pto chipper so I thought I would also try my new (to me) box blade for the first time. The chipper was no big deal. I raised it, drove to where I wanted it and lowered it.

The box blade was a different story...

1st, I am not use to the way you set the height control lever and leave it. I am use to normal hydraulics where you push a lever and then return it to center to stop it. Does this take long to get use to?

2nd, Is the height control lever supposed to be smooth like a normal hydraulic control lever? Mine moves much stiffer. More resistance to movement. I assume that so it will hold the position you set? Can you take off some of the tension? Can you make the lever move more freely?

3rd, The L39 has a down speed setting (Slow, fast and Lock) When using a box blade where do I want that? Does that only apply when the lever is in float position?

I would like to say WOW! box blades really make quick work of leveling a gravel driveway. I have always done it with the loader bucket. BB are the way to go...

Thanks for any help.

/ 3 Point height control lever #2  
2006 L39, Having never used a 3 Point before, I am a complete novice.

The box blade was a different story...

1st, I am not use to the way you set the height control lever and leave it. I am use to normal hydraulics where you push a lever and then return it to center to stop it. Does this take long to get use to?

2nd, Is the height control lever supposed to be smooth like a normal hydraulic control lever? Mine moves much stiffer. More resistance to movement. I assume that so it will hold the position you set? Can you take off some of the tension? Can you make the lever move more freely?